Well, the time has come to officially launch my blog!  After much time, prayer, and thoughtful consideration, I have decided to join the blogging world.   I don’t do so lightly, but purposefully and with much deliberation.  This is why.

About a year ago, I had a strong desire to start blogging.  Everybody else was doing it, it seemed.  Why not?  I have a degree in Journalism, I love to write, and to network, specifically in the world of women’s ministry.  Then I read this passage from Ecclesiastes 12:8-11:

“Meaningless!! Meaningless! says the Teacher.  “Everything is meaningless.”  … The Teacher searched to find just the right words, and what he wrote was upright and true.  The words of the wise are like goads, their collected sayings like firmly embedded nails given by one Shepherd.  Be warned, my son, of anything in addition to them.  Of making many books there is no end, and much study wearies the body.”

This got my attention.  You see, I did not want to be just another  blog, cluttering up the webworld with the mundane details of my life, but I did have a strong desire to spotlight who God is in my life, share His light, and point those who happen across my blog to the best friend they could ever hope to have — Jesus.   And it says pretty strongly, (in my opinion anyway!), that we are not to add to the words of the Shepherd, and what we write should come from him.  There is lot of information floating around out there today, a lot of it is good, a lot of it is ego-driven, and a lot of it is just plain unnecessary.   I also waited to give this time, and through many months of hearing from friend after friend about how they have been encouraged by my Facebook posts, I felt this was another confirmation that it was time to start the blog process.

The name of my blog is Genesis Girls, and I hope to serve as a resource and networking site for all women, and for women in ministry, either volunteer or paid staff, as we learn together to embrace God’s original design for womanhood!   You will find some purposed pages on my blog.  Planet People will spotlight special friends I have who serve in missions and ministry, What’s Cooking will highlight some great family recipes, and I always like to share what I’m reading and listening to, as I believe our media intake plays a huge role in reinforcing who we are as believers.

I look forward to the blog journey!!  Feel free to tag along …:D

